top of page

FOLLOW ME:

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

RECENT POSTS: 

Monica Sigler

I'm just a huge Disney geek who's finally living out her dream! I grew up in Overland Park, KS, went to college at Belmont University in Nashville, TN, and now I'm working in Attractions at Disney World in Orlando, FL. I'm also a singer/songwriter, so check out my bi-weekly Disney song videos!

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

DCP Phone Interview

The DCP Phone Interview may seem like a daunting concept, but I actually really enjoyed it! As long as you are prepared and show your enthusiasm for the program, you have nothing to be nervous about.

My PI was scheduled for 5:30PM, but BE READY FOR THE CALL TO COME 15 MINUTES BEFORE OR AFTER YOUR SCHEDULED TIME. The phone call will also most likely come from an unknown or blocked number. I scheduled my PI on an evening where I didn't have any plans, so I was able to dedicate 100% of my time and energy to the interview. 30 minutes before my PI, I set up my laptop in front of my mirror (it seriously helps your energy and stress levels!) and surrounded it with all of my Disney stuffed animals :) The phone call finally came at 5:40pm and lasted exactly 20 minutes.

A few more quick tips before we dive in:

- Do your research! Find out what kinds of questions they might ask you!

- Prepare answers ahead of time so that you don't have to think too long on the spot

- Practice your interview with friends and family ahead of time

- SMILE

- Take deep breaths and allow yourself plenty of time beforehand to get in focus

- I listened to Disney songs all day to get pumped!

FIRST:

Write down your interviewer's name!!!! This allows you to refer to them by name throughout the interview and show off how personable you are ;)

NEXT:

She asked me a lot of questions to simply verify that what I had written in my application was correct. This was very low-stress, so don't worry!

FINALLY:

My interviewer spent some time asking various questions that aligned with what I had read online, and I felt so prepared! Definitely find questions that other applicants have shared online to help get you started, but remember that every interviewer is different and Disney is constantly changing, so they may ask completely different questions!

Basically, just know yourself and study what kinds of duties are involved in your top 3-5 roles. To get you started, here are my top 5 favorite roles:

1) Character Performer

Do you know when you are planning to audition? Check online ahead of time! The interviewer probably won't ask you many questions about this role, however, since your audition is the main factor in whether or not you can be cast as a Character Performer.

2) BBB

You should probably have experience with makeup, hair, and kids if you want to be involved with the Bibbidi Bobbidi Boutique.

3) Attractions

A lot of Attractions require you to speak in front of a large group of people, so you may want to evaluate how comfortable you are with this before listing it as one of your top roles!

4) PhotoPass Photographer

Have you ever worked with a DSLR camera? Do you have experience with photoshop? If so, PhotoPass may be a perfect place for your talents!

5) Merchandise

Most of the questions I've seen about Merchandise involve problem solving, so be prepared to think on your feet during the interview! It also helps if you have experience handling money or working in retail.

QUESTIONS FOR THE INTERVIEWER

I asked my interviewer all four of these questions - she seemed very surprised and flattered that I asked for what she personally looks for in a CP applicant! Questions like these show that you really prepared for the interview and that you are good at engaging others in conversation.

- What kind of qualities do you look for in future CPs?

- Have you done the DCP before? How did you like it? Where did you work? Etc.

- Do you have any magical moments or experiences?

- When/how will I hear back about whether or not I have been accepted?

I hope that this has helped you to feel a bit more prepared! I know that I felt much more excited about my interview after I had read about other people's experiences!

bottom of page