top of page

FOLLOW ME:

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

RECENT POSTS: 

Monica Sigler

I'm just a huge Disney geek who's finally living out her dream! I grew up in Overland Park, KS, went to college at Belmont University in Nashville, TN, and now I'm working in Attractions at Disney World in Orlando, FL. I'm also a singer/songwriter, so check out my bi-weekly Disney song videos!

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

Magical Moments: October

Let's get started with more Magical Moment stories!

 

On the first day of the month, I went to my very first Mickey's Not So Scary Halloween Party! I have a few cute stories from that...

When I first GOT OUT OF MY CAR, a little girl looked at me in my Rapunzel costume and said, "OH!" I swear she looked at me like I WAS Rapunzel! All she talked about after that was about how she, "wants to be Tangled for Halloween!"

When I was on the monorail, a little girl looked up at me with the biggest eyes. Her mom pointed out my hair, so I sat down next to the girl and showed her all of the little flowers. I asked which one was her favorite, and she quickly picked the flower at the very bottom of the braid. She proceeded to pet the flower for the entire rest of the monorail ride, looking at it as if it were the most precious flower ever created.

I got to meet SO many characters that night, all of which had super memorable interactions. My favorite moments were comparing hair lengths with Captain Jack Sparrow and teaching Tarzan how to braid his hair like mine!

But my favorite memory was skipping past Rapunzel's tower, dressed as my favorite character, in a nearly empty park at the end of a perfect night!

 

While I was working in the unloading dock, a guy around my age asked if he could stay between cars and watch the lights turn back to the purple stars (it's actually really cool and the only people who usually see it are the Cast Members who work there). I figured that there was no harm in letting him wait, as long as he didn't cross the yellow line while the train was in motion. When I told him, "yes," he got so excited! He texted his family to tell them where he was, and then he patiently waited next to me for the lights to change. He was beyond thankful that I had let him stay, and it made me really realize how much I take for granted as a Cast Member.

 

One day, while I was getting ready to stack glasses at the Exit for the Pixar Short Films Festival, one of my coworkers peeked out of the theater and asked for my help. He was getting ready to start the show, but an extremely loud hissing sound was coming from the floor near the first few rows. The moving floor has problems all the time, but never anything like this! We weren't sure what to do, so my coworker called maintenance and a coordinator.

But we had a theater full of guests waiting for the show to begin! So, in the spur of the moment, I went up to the podium and started entertaining the audience!

I had so many Disney jokes stored in the back of my head, but I could only remember one! After that, I wanted to do Disney trivia questions, but the hissing floor was too loud for me to hear their responses! So I just ended up telling them interesting Disney facts until our leaders told us what to do. Eventually, they took over at the podium and released the audience, but I was so proud of how well we handled the situation!

 

My amazing man came to visit me from October 4th to the 7th. We did Hollywood Studios and Animal Kingdom in one day (it is VERY doable!), Epcot the next day, Magic Kingdom and Disney Springs on his last full day, and the Bon Voyage breakfast at the Boardwalk on the morning that he flew home. It was really the most perfect trip in the world, and guess what made it even better?!

He proposed!!!!!

 

I was at FastPass and one of my coworkers came over to say congrats and asked to see the ring, and then some sweet old ladies in line were like, "Did you just get engaged?! Oh my goodness! Congrats!!!" It was a really sweet moment :)

 

A guest asked me if I was actually Tinkerbell. In real life. WOW :D

 

I was closing car doors at Transport and noticed a couple with "Happily Ever After" and "Celebrating" buttons, so I asked what they were celebrating. The woman told me they were celebrating 41 years of marriage! Some of my coworkers were doing a ride-through and they were sitting in the row behind the couple, so they told them, "SHE JUST GOT ENGAGED!" The woman got really excited and asked to see the ring, and then she said, "Well, I wish you just as many happy years! I legitimately had to HOLD BACK THE TEARS.

 

There were two little boys wearing "Free Hugs" t-shirts, so I said, "Free hugs?! Where's MY hug?!" AND I GOT A HUG!

 

I yawned at Dispatch and two people sitting next to each other in the train pointed at me jokingly like I was doing something evil or illegal. I opened my eyes and made a Snow White-esque "oh!" sound and covered my mouth. As I sent off the train, we laughed and waved at each other and one of them said, "bye, Sleeping Beauty!"

 

Okay, this has almost nothing to do with Disney, but one night, my roommates and I watched an episode of Friends where they try to name all 50 states in 6 minutes, so we tried it!!! It was surprisingly difficult, and I HIGHLY recommend it for parties!

 

Y'all. I had a magical moment at WALMART.

When I left the store, an elderly gentleman asked to see my receipt to make sure I really bought everything. After I put away my receipt, he looked at me and said, "Are you a CP?" Keep in mind, I was alone and I wasn't wearing anything Disney related that would give any indication that I'm in the DCP! I said yes and he said, "I could tell. You just look like a CP!" I'll take that as a compliment!!!

 

A guy came in wearing a KU hat, so of course I said, "Rock Chalk, Jayhawk!" Then a guy behind him said, "Go K-State!" and I made an "ehhhhhhhhhhhh" sound. The rivalry lives on, even at Disney.

 

A little girl came in, I said hi, and then she ran over to me, hugged my legs, and picked up her legs and wrapped them around me LIKE A KOALA. 5 minutes later, a little boy came in and gave me a high five! SO MUCH LOVE!!!

 

One of my coworkers told me, "I love how you make the guests happy!" She had walked through the theater earlier while I was starting my pre-show spiel, and I had said, "How's everyone doing today?!" And they gave a lame "yay," so I said, "Oh, come on, you guys are in Disney World, you can do better than that! How are you doing today?!" And they got really loud! She thought that was a fun touch and it was so sweet of her to tell me!

 

I went to Blizzard Beach one day (I don't suggest going to the water parks alone - it's just super uncomfortable), and I tried to meet up with my co-workers near the end of the day. In an effort to find them easier, I hung out by the lockers for a while. I had been sitting on a bench, playing on my phone for quite a while, and a custodial Cast Member came over and gave me a FREE Mickey Premium Bar!

Also, while I was walking around, a life guard, who was on his way to a break room, said hi and asked how my day was going. Once again, I was alone and not wearing or carrying anything Disney related that would give any indication that I'm in the DCP, but he asked right away, "Are you a CP?"

HOW CAN EVERYONE TELL?!?!?!?

 

I did my first OFFICIAL Magical Moment!!! There's a planned one for the theater that you're encouraged to do as much as possible, but I was always too hesitant to try it. I noticed two sweet little girls near the front sitting very quietly with their parents. They looked like they spoke English, so I went up to them and asked, "Would you ladies like a special job?!" Their eyes got kind of big and they nodded yes, so I took them up to the podium with me. I sat down next to them and asked for their names, handed them each a clapboard, and explained what we were going to do. They waited VERY patiently for the show to start, and after I had done my spiel, I said, "Before we start the show, I'd like to introduce you to our junior directors for the day. Ready girls? Lights, camera, ACTION!" And they did the little clapboard thing and it was adorable. Then I finished the spiel, walked the girls back to their seats, and melted into a puddle of happiness. Their dad videoed the whole thing!

 

I spent about 20 minutes helping an elderly couple set up their My Disney Experience accounts so that they could view their FastPasses and it was low-key adorable.

 

I was at Dispatch and interacted with two little boys in the front row who seemed very excited. I asked them for their best train whistle, and the older boy did one right away, but the younger boy was a little hesitant, so I demonstrated a train whistle for him and he copied me. Then I had them count off the train with me. These are all things that I do on a regular basis, so I didn't think much of it, but the girl who was working Transport came over and said, "Monica, you're an angel. Do you work with kids?" Nope! It's just in my Sigler genes ;D

 

Some of my friends from Belmont (who now live in Florida) came to visit me at Epcot for a day and it was such a pleasant surprise! I was working Illuminations that night, so I made some Disney magic and got them into the FastPass area! We spent the whole time before the show just catching up on each others' lives and I loved every minute of it!

 

I was closing the doors at Transport and a little girl had a Moana necklace on, so I asked her what was inside and she said, "the Heart of Tefiti!" I am so proud of these children that keep being able to say that!!!

 

I was working at Doctor when a young man came up to me pushing a young woman in a wheelchair. He asked if the ride was wheelchair accessible and if the wait was a true 25 minutes. After I answered their questions, they noticed that I was giving out stickers, so they asked for some. When the guy saw my ring, he said, "Wow! That's a really pretty ring!!! Are you...?" And I said, "YES! I just got engaged on October 6!" And they freaked out with me! They had Happily Ever After pins that said they were celebrating their 1 year anniversary! It was all so sweet and I seriously almost died.

 

I helped a Hispanic family with a bunch of questions, and their little daughter, who was wearing Anna's coronation dress and obviously knew very little English, turned to me and said, "I love you," to me as they left.

AND THEN I SAW THE FAMILY AGAIN LATER. I was working FastPass at the theater, and she told me, "I love you," again and I'm pretty sure a piece of me exploded from the cuteness overload.

 

On the last day of the month (Halloween, of course!), my coworkers and I hung out and had an absolute BLAST! I was pretty excited to have an excuse to wear my new Joy outfit!

bottom of page